From the Erie Times-News: Scott Dibble, the head coach of two-time defending PIAA Class AA girls basketball champion Villa maria Academy, has been removed as the school’s girls’ basketball coach.

Here are the stories:

Dibble resigns

Dibble receives second protection from abuse order

Doug Chuzie named interim head coach at VMA

Been a tough week for PIAA champions from Erie. On Saturday, PIAA wrestling champion Steve Spearman of McDowell was unable to make weight at 130 pounds on the second day of the District 10-AAA tournament, knocking him out of the state championship series.


Ha! The one day I decide to concentrate on needed site maintenance and chasing down an unchaseable wrestling story, the state’s sportswriters all-state girls basketball team is released. I’m the last one to this party, but here are the teams. Props to Phil Cmor of the Altoona Mirror for coordinating the team with input from writers from around the state,



Olivia Bresnahan, Butler, 5-11, Sr., 17.6

Madison Cable, Mount Lebanon, 5-10, Jr., 13.7

Natasha Cloud, Cardinal O’Hara, 5-10, Sr., 12.4

Emily Leer, Abington, 6-2, Sr.,  17.8

Belma Nurkic, Baldwin, 5-11, Jr., 19.5

Alyssa Thomas, Central Dauphin, 6-0, Sr., 24.3


Shayla Felder, Cheltenham, 5-4, Sr., 17.8

Carly Gallagher, East Stroudsburg South, 5-10, Sr., 20.2

Sarah Kiely, Council Rock North, 6-0, Sr., 12.3

Jess Koci, Archbishop Ryan, 5-11, Sr., 16.3

Jenny Papich, Fox Chapel, 6-1, Sr., 17.5

Deva’Nyar Workman, Reading, 5-9, Sr., 19.6


Lauren Arbogast, Mount Lebanon, 6-1, Sr., 11.7

Jessica Babe, Mount Lebanon, 5-4, Sr., 7.7

Kara Bonenberger, Northampton, 6-1, Jr., 11.7

Erika Livermore, Nazareth, 6-0, Jr., 17.5

Meghan Phillips, Cedar Crest, 5-9, Sr., 20.3

Sabre Proctor, Harrisburg, 5-11, Sr., 18.1

Player of the year: Alyssa Thomas, Central Dauphin

Coach of the year: Dori Oldaker, Mount Lebanon



Kayla Hoohuli, St. Marys, 5-8, Jr., 30.3

Val Majewski, General McLane, 5-6, Jr., 23.6

Laura Murray, Camp Hill Trinity, 5-10, Sr., 15.7

Erin Shields, Archbishop Carroll, 5-6, Sr., 16.0

Linsday Stamp, Mercyhurst Prep, 5-11, Jr., 23.0


Paige Alviana, Hopewell, 5-8, Sr., 18.5

Ellen Cannon, Villa Maria Academy, 5-6, Sr., 14.2

MyNeshia McKenzie, Springfield Delco, 6-0, Sr., 13.8

Colleen Nosovich, Allentown Central Catholic, 5-10, Sr., 14.4

Karly Rhoads, Slippery Rock, 5-11, Sr., 16.9

Monica Wignot, Holy Redeemer, 6-2, Sr., 12.3


Ashley Betz-White, Camp Hill Trinity, 5-6, Jr., 11.4

Taylor Clark, 6-1, Sr., Athens, 12.3

Paige Elliott, West York, 5-8, Sr., 13.7

Elise Faris, Hopewell, 5-7, Sr., 15.8

Maggie Fruehan, Abington Heights, 5-9, Jr., 17.6

Saddie Gravatt, Franklin, 5-7, Sr., 16.1

Kaylynn Waters, New Castle, 5-7, So., 18.4

Player of the year: Erin Shields, Archbishop Carroll

Coach of the year: Jim Ricci, Archbishop Wood



Brittany Hrynko, Engineering & Science, 5-8, Jr., 21.7

Maggie Lucas, Germantown Academy, 5-8, Sr., 23.6

Kayla McBride, Villa Maria, 5-11, Sr.., 20.5

Sierra Moore, Delone Catholic, 5-10, So., 17.6

Kady Schrann, York Catholic, 5-8, Jr., 17.8

Tory Thierolf, Germantown Academy, 6-0, Sr., 14.1


Kayla Cook, Jeannette, 5-10, Jr., 17.3

Tara Gallupe, Avonworth, 5-10, Sr., 22.0

Chikilra Goodman, Bodine, 5-10, Sr. 36.2

Erin LaVenice, Lancaster Mennonite, 6-0, Sr., 13.2

Megan McCullough, Notre Dame, 5-6, Sr., 9.8

Tierney Pfirman, South Williamsport, 5-11, So., 25.0

Amy Zehner, Tamaqua, 5-11, Jr., 21.0


Selena Adamshick, Lake-Lehman, 6-0, Jr., 21.5

Katie Gattuso, Seton-LaSalle, 6-0, Sr., 14.6

Hannah Heeter, Cranberry, 6-1, Sr., 20.4

Elaina Hummel, Southern Huntingdon, 5-6, Sr., 17.3

Alyssa Isler, New Hope-Solebury, 5-5, Sr., 24.6

Julie Kosin, Holy Cross, 5-9, Sr., 18.0

Emily Lohr, North Star, 6-0, Jr., 16.6

Kylee Sutton, Towanda, 5-11, Jr., 23.0

Player of the year: Kayla McBride, Villa Maria

Coach of the year: Scott Dibble, Villa Maria



Hailey Carangelo, Lebanon Catholic, 5-9, Sr., 20.3

D’Asia Chambers, 5-10, Sr., Farrell, 22.9

Talia East, Friends Central, 6-3, Sr., 12.4

Emily Homan, 6-4, Jr., Delaware County Christian, 14.5

Malia Tate-DeFreitas, 5-6, Fr., Steelton-Highspire, 21.2

Alli Williams, Bishop Guilfoyle, 5-11, Sr., 16.4


Kiely Chaklos, Nativity BVM, 5-2, Jr., 14.2

Jacqi Diez, St. Joseph, 5-8, Sr., 26.3

Brittany Eisenhuth, Ferndale, 5-8, Sr., 20.9

Breanna Kochinsky, Northern Cambria, 5-6, Sr., 17.6

Aleesha Powell, Penn Charter, 5-5, Jr., 13.4

Geena Sneeringer, West Forest, 5-6, Sr., 21.9

Keturah Vactor, Vincentian, 5-11, Jr., 15.0


Halee Adams, Bishop Guilfoyle, 5-7, Fr., 14.9

Kahleah Copper, Girard College, 5-10, So., 20.7

Taylor Gruss, Conemaugh Valley, 5-8, Sr., 11.3

Kim Kaville, Old Forge, 5-8, Sr., 15.5

Autumn Pellman, Greenwood, 5-11, Jr., 19.3

Juli Weber, Tri-Valley, 5-7, Fr., 12.6

Rachel Zimmerman, Tussey Mountain, 5-3, Sr., 18.2

Player of the year: Alli Williams, Bishop Guilfoyle

Coach of the year: Mark Moschella, Bishop Guilfoyle


Whew. Trying to figure out which is more exhausting, the state swimming championships or the state wrestling championships. Aw, it’s wrestling. Swimming might last four days to wrestling’s three, but at least one gets a decent break and doesn’t have to settle for half-cooked, gray sausages with limp peppers for lunch. (I know. Never complain about free food, but …)

A reminder: I’ll be blogging the second day of the Class AAA swimming and diving championships from Bucknell University again tonight. A huge thanks to Mike Gobrecht of for the Twitter feed directly to his outstanding page. In the meantime, you can check out Wednesday’s blog here.

Live PIAA swimming results are at the PIAA website here and at here.

The PIAA Basketball Championships have completed the second round with some excellent games last night, including Villa Maria’s 50-49 overtime win over Trinity in Class AA girls (story by the Harrisburg Patriot-News’ Andy Shay here) and Roman Catholic’s bizarre 15-point win over Reading in double overtime (story by the Reading Eagle’s Mike Drago here). These stories and more will be linked over at The Ticker, our page for daily scholastic sports stories from around the state.

© 2012 Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha